Women Dominate the 2017 Hugo Awards

While women are still fighting misogyny and prejudice in the workplace and in culture, talent ultimately rises to the top, and frustrating phenomena like the "fake geek girl trope" are losing. Actually, they've lost.  

The Hugo Awards have, in recent years, given increasing recognition to women and minorities, despite pushback from genre groups who have, in recent years, been harassing and threatening women authors and their publishers, as well as threatening and even attempting to game the Awards themselves.

However, the 2017 Annual Hugo Awards were presented yesterday at the 75th Annual WorldCon in Helsinki, and for the second consecutive year, women swept almost every single category. From N.K. Jeremin, who won Best Novel for the second consecutive year, to Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda's win for Best Graphic Story with the wonderful Monstress Volume One, this was a year in which the best person won. 

Here are your 2017 Hugo Award Winners, champions all! 

Best Novel

The Obelisk Gate, by N. K. Jemisin (Orbit Books)

Best Novella

Every Heart a Doorway, by Seanan McGuire (Tor.com publishing)

Best Novelette

The Tomato Thief”, by Ursula Vernon (Apex Magazine, January 2016)

Best Short Story

Seasons of Glass and Iron”, by Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales, Saga Press)

Best Related Work

Words Are My Matter: Writings About Life and Books, 2000-2016, by Ursula K. Le Guin (Small Beer)

Best Graphic Story

Monstress, Volume 1: Awakening, written by Marjorie Liu, illustrated by Sana Takeda (Image)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form)

Arrival, screenplay by Eric Heisserer based on a short story by Ted Chiang, directed by Denis Villeneuve (21 Laps Entertainment/FilmNation Entertainment/Lava Bear Films)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)

The Expanse: “Leviathan Wakes”, written by Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby, directed by Terry McDonough (SyFy)

Best Editor – Short Form

Ellen Datlow

Best Editor – Long Form

Liz Gorinsky

Best Professional Artist

Julie Dillon

Best Semiprozine

Uncanny Magazine, edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, Michi Trota, Julia Rios, and podcast produced by Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky

Best Fanzine

Lady Business, edited by Clare, Ira, Jodie, KJ, Renay, and Susan

Best Fancast

Tea and Jeopardy, presented by Emma Newman with Peter Newman

Best Fan Writer

Abigail Nussbaum

Best Fan Artist

Elizabeth Leggett

Best Series

The Vorkosigan Saga, by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Ada Palmer (1st year of eligibility)